Election Results 2013

Congratulations to the new HSPH Alumni Council representatives!
The results of the balloting were announced at the Annual Meeting of the Alumni Association held in conjunction with the Alumni Centennial Weekend on Saturday, November 2, 2013 in Boston. Thank you to all the candidates who volunteered to stand for election!

We welcome the following members as part of the 13 member HSPH Alumni Council:

President Elect

Sameh El-Saharty, MPH '91
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Health Policy Specialist
The World Bank


Kelly Dougherty, SM '06
Boston, Massachusetts
Executive Director
The CardioVascular Center
Tufts Medical Center


Kiran Kamble, MPH '10
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Development Paradigm 360 Inc

Tzipora Strauss, MD, SM '13

Savyon, Israel
Director, Department of Neonatology
Safra Children's Hospital
Sheba Medical Center at Tel HaShomer

Sadiqa Mahmood, MPH '13 (elected by the Class of 2013)
Boston, MA
Project Manger
Partner's Healthcare

Thank you to all the Councilors who completed their terms on November 2, 2013. For the past three years, Teresa Chahine, SD '10; Sameh El-Saharty, MPH '91, and Chandak Ghosh, MPH '00, have generously assisted the Alumni Council in their efforts to promote and enhance the values of the Harvard School of Public Health as well as communication among the graduates of the School. Their contributions are greatly appreciated.

In addition, we have several officers on the Council completing terms or changing roles. First, we thank Immediate Past President Royce Moser, MPH '65, for his decade of service to the Alumni Council; this year he officially retires from the Council. Elsbeth Kalenderian, MPH '89, has served as President since 2011, and will continue in an advisory role for the next two years. Anthony Dias, MPH '04, moves from President Elect to become the Council's new President this fall, and Ramon Sanchez, SM '07, SD '11, just completed his term as Secretary.

Congratulations to the Council members who have been elected to fill these vacancies as well as the President of the HSPH Class of 2013 who has assumed one of the vacant Councilor positions. The others  have been elected by the alumni body at large in the fall of 2013.