2013 Alumni Awardees

Awards will be presented at the Centennial Alumni Weekend activities on Saturday, November 2. Details and registration.

The Harvard School of Public Health Alumni Association is pleased to announce the honorees of the 2013 HSPH Alumni Association Awards, recognized by their peers for their contributions to public health. These incredible individuals are the living embodiment of powerful ideas for a healthier world.

Learn more about the 2013 Alumni Association Awardees.

2013 Alumni Award of Merit
Established in 1992, the Alumni Award of Merit is the highest honor that the School can bestow upon a graduate of the Harvard School of Public Health, recognizing a significant career in the field of public health. 
Marc Schenker, MPH '80
Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences
University of California at Davis, Davis, California

Debra Silverman, SD '81
Chief, Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Branch
National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, MD

Eiji Yano, MPH '84
Founding Dean and Professor, Teikyo School of Public Health,
Teikyo University, Tokyo, Japan

2013 Leadership Award in Public Health Practice
Recognizing a graduate of the Harvard School of Public Health who has been an outstanding example of effective leadership in the practice of public health, in the public or private sphere. 

Adam Finkel, AB'79, MPP '84, SD '87
Senior Fellow & Executive Director, Penn Program on Regulation
University of Pennsylvania Law School, Philadelphia, PA

2013 Public Health Innovator Award (2 recipients)
Recognizing a significant innovative contribution to public health made by a distinguished graduate of the Harvard School of Public Health. 
Akudo Anyanwu Ikemba, MPH '03
Founder and CEO Friends of the Global Fund Africa (Friends Africa), Lagos, Nigeria
Royce Ellen Clifford, MPH '06
Advisor, Office of Naval Research
Visiting Scientist, Harvard School of Public Health

2013 Emerging Public Health Professional Award
Recognizing early-career public health achievements and contributions of Harvard School of Public Health graduates who received their degree within the past 10 years
Kelechi Ohiri, MPH '02, SM '03
Senior Special Adviser for the Federal Ministry of Health, Abuja Nigeria

Pictured above top to bottom are:
(left column) Mark Schenker, Akudo Anyanwu Ikemba, Kelechi Ohiri, and Royce Clifford.
(right column) Debra Silverman, Eiji Yano, and Adam Finkel.