Alumni News and Features


Vote for your new Alumni Council representatives

Vote by October 25 for your representation in the HSPH Alumni Association!

Voting requires login: If you have not yet joined the HSPH Alumni Online Community, please see the footer of any email with [HSPH Alumni] in the subject line for your unique, 10-digit access code.

This year three Alumni Councilors will complete their terms on the HSPH Alumni Council. For the past three years, Teresa Chahine, SD '10; Sameh El-Saharty, MPH '91, and Chandak Ghosh, MPH '00, have generously assisted the Alumni Council in their efforts to promote and enhance the values of the Harvard School of Public Health as well as communication among the graduates of the School. Their contributions are greatly appreciated.

In addition, we have several officers on the Council completing terms or changing roles. First, we thank Immediate Past President Royce Moser, MPH '65, for his decade of service to the Alumni Council; this year he officially retires from the Council. Elsbeth Kalenderian, MPH '89, has served as President since 2011, and will continue in an advisory role for the next two years. Anthony Dias, MPH '04, moves from President Elect to become the Council's new President this fall, and Ramon Sanchez, SM '07, SD '11, completes his term as Secretary.

We now ask for your participation in filling these roles on the Alumni Council. In accordance with the bylaws of the Alumni Association, the President of the HSPH Class of 2013, Sadiqa Mahmood, MPH '13, will assume one of the Councilor positions. Two more Councilors, the Secretary, and the President-Elect will be elected by you, the alumni of HSPH. The Alumni Council Nominating Committee has proposed a slate of two nominees for each vacant position, and you are asked to indicate your choice by voting for two candidates for Councilor, one for Secretary, and one for President-Elect. To review each candidate's nomination statement and CV, please visit the online ballot. Login is required to view and submit the ballot.

For President Elect

Sameh El-Saharty, MPH '91
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Health Policy Specialist
The World Bank

Ramon Sanchez, SM '07, SD '11
Boston, Massachusetts
Assistant Director
Sustainability & Environmental Management Program
Harvard Extension School

For Secretary

Kelly Dougherty, SM '06
Boston, Massachusetts
Executive Director
The CardioVascular Center
Tufts New England Medical Center

Jenifer Jaeger, MPH '11
Sharon, Massachusetts

Associate Pediatrician
MGH/Chelsea Urgent Care

For Councilor

Susanna Jacobus, SM '03
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Kiran Kamble, MPH '10
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Development Paradigm 360 Inc

Tzipora Strauss
Savyon, Israel
Director, Department of Neonatology
Safra Children's Hospital
Sheba Medical Center at Tel HaShomer

Margo Woods, SD '76
Arlington, Massachusetts

Associate Professor of Community Health
Tufts Medical School

Voting is conducted via the HSPH Alumni Online Community only, so visit the ballot to select your candidates now. The polls will close on Friday, October 25, 2013. In order to vote, you must log into your Online Community account, and you will only be able to vote once; this ensures authentication of your voting eligibility. If you are not already registered for the Community, please email Alumni Affairs (with your degree information and date of birth to verify your identity) for assistance.

The results of the balloting will be announced at the Annual Meeting of the Alumni Association held in conjunction with the Alumni Centennial Weekend on Saturday, November 2, 2013 in Boston, and will be posted here after that date.